What’s in a Name?

Working on a novel has been a completely different experience for me. The main characters arc has been the usual writing, but it’s the side characters that have been hard.

I have this character who keeps pushing his way in, and since he’s a former cop from New Jersey he usually gets his way. Plus he has these soulful eyes that make me fall to my knees. But his character is supposed to be minor and he is not having that! So I’ve let him have his way, but now I’m having trouble coming up with a suitable name for him.

Naming a character is like naming a new baby. Okay, it’s not that bad, but it feels like it. You go through all these thoughts… is this name masculine enough? Is it easily pronounced? Will he be made fun of because his initials spell out D.U.M.? Is there another character that has a name close to his?

I put the question out to my cabin mates at “Camp NaNoWriMo” and one of my mates “BDavidHughes” suggested, ” Mikey Costoleone Montello (Costolone is his mother’s maiden name); his friends call him Mikey, his associates call him “Mike”, and his mother still calls him “Michael”. lol”

Isn’t that great? I love how just naming a character can create a whole back story that brings the character to life. Here’s an idea of how I picture the character:

Fashion latin man looking at camera with confidence

Does he look like a Mikey/Mike/Michael? Any other suggestions on how you name your characters?

Oh and look for “Mikey” in the novel “The Vampire’s Prey” coming this fall. His interaction with the main heroine, Sophia, just make me smile.

Anya

2 responses to “What’s in a Name?

  1. Interesting post! He doesn’t look old enough to have been born in the ‘Michael / Mikey name era / 80s. He looks quite young or late twenties. I think he needs more of a modern name. Good luck with your naming!

  2. Good point. Back to the drawing board. 🙂

Leave a Reply

