Difference between Erotic and Erotica writing

There is one question I’ve been asked over and over again. Is there a difference between erotic and erotica writing? My answer is “Yes!”

I consider myself an erotic writer. Although, because of the length of my novellas and the amount of sex scenes others would consider it erotica. I tag both in my books when I publish.

Here’s how I distinguish between the two:

Erotic: A relationship needs to exist between all major players. (Players can include any gender and multiple partners, but all need to be in that relationship). Sex is driven by a plot. There is a HEA (happily ever after). Example. Man sees girl, man is drawn to girl, girl is drawn to man, they have hot sex, they go home and both think of each other, they get back together and have hot sex again. They live happily ever after.

Erotica: Wham, bam, thank you ma’am. Not necessarily a HEA. Sex is the driving force of the story. Example. Man sees girl, man has hot sex with girl, girl goes home and wonders what the hell just happened, man goes home and thinks about the next girl he’s going to bang.

This is my opinion, and I’d love to hear yours! 
Anya

2 responses to “Difference between Erotic and Erotica writing

  1. I’ve toyed with the further distinction that erotica is written primarily to trigger lustful feelings, while erotic writing is meant to explore emotional interactions that are discovered/enriched by sexual interaction. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

